School of Public Health and Community Medicine

Health and Safety

Health and Safety is central to both teaching and research activities at the School of Public Health and Community Medicine. The school is committed to meeting the requirements of the UNSW Health & Safety policy and implementing the aims and strategies outlined therein. Health and Safety Awareness training is compulsory for all staff and research students.

SPHCM Contacts and Committee Members

Name Responsibility Representing Email Address Telephone
A/Prof David Heslop Chair SPHCM d.heslop@unsw.edu.au 9385 3499
Sarah Jacob Secretary SPHCM sarah.jacob@unsw.edu.au 9385 2520
Prof Raina MacIntyre Management Representative HoS, SPHCM hos-sphcm@unsw.edu.au 9385 3811
Anil Singh-Prakash Management Representative SPHCM a.prakash@unsw.edu.au 9385 2446
Dr Bayzidur Rahman Academic Representative SPHCM bayzid@unsw.edu.au 9385 8660
Dr Sally Nathan Academic Representative SPHCM s.nathan@unsw.edu.au 9385 1061
Dr Robin Turner Academic Representative SPHCM r.turner@unsw.edu.au 9385 8756
Dr Abrar  Chughtai Academic Representative SPHCM abrar.chughtai@unsw.edu.au 9385 1009
Ravit Danieli-Vlandis General Staff Representative SPHCM ravit@unsw.edu.au 9385 2517
Shereen Matthews General Staff Representative SPHCM s.matthews@unsw.edu.au 9385 3588
Farah Zaidi PGC Student Representative SPHCM farah.zaidi@student.unsw.edu.au  
Chau Bui HDR Student Representative SPHCM chau.bui@student.unsw.edu.au  
Kahabi Isangula HDR Student Representative SPHCM k.isangula@student.unsw.edu.au  
Gregory Maxwell Advisor H&S Medicine g.maxwell@unsw.edu.au 9385 0667
 

H&S is everyone’s business. Slips, trips and falls cause 26% of all serious injuries at UNSW, so if you see a loose paver, uplifted carpet or a spill let FM Assist know. If you have identified a hazard, report it via H20 on myUNSW or call FM Assist on 9385 5111.

SPHCM Emergency Procedures

In the event of an emergency call Security on 9385 6666.

UNSWalert - SMS Emergency Notification System

An emergency or crisis situation can arise with very little warning and could seriously impact on your safety on campus. With this in mind UNSW provides an emergency notification system that operates via mobile phone SMS/text. 

This service is available by registering your mobile phone number via myUNSW. Once you are registered, you will receive an SMS alert when emergency situations arise. Please note there will be an annual test of the system for quality assurance purposes.

For further details on UNSW emergency procedures see Security and Safety.

Emergency Contacts at SPHCM

First Aid
Level 2
Dr Abrar Chughtai 9385 1009 Room 209
Dr Rebecca Reynolds - on maternity leave 9385 2522 Room 222
Location of First Aid Kit Kitchen Room 221
Level 3
Genevieve McKay 9385 3210 Room 327
Ravit Danieli-Vlandis 9385 2517 Room 325
Nina Mili 9385 3811 Room 324
Location of First Aid Kit Main Office Room 325

 

Fire Wardens and Marshalls
Level 2
Tessalonica Ho        9385 2507 Room 236
Dr Bayzidur Rahman 9385 8660 Room 215
Tun Shwe        9385 8196 Room 214
Dr James Wood 9385 8769 Room 219
Catherine Brieger 9385 3588 Room 240
Level 3
Sarah Jacob 9385 2520 Room 314
Anil Singh-Prakash 9385 2446 Room 325B
Samuels Building Chief Warden: Derek Williamson, 9385 2190, Ground Floor
Samuels Building Deputy Chief Warden: Anita Heywood, 9385 3667, Level 3, Room 216

 

SPHCM Emergency Evacuation Procedures

In case of an emergency evacuation, follow the map as posted by the lift on each floor of the Samuels Building and any instructions provided by the Samuels Building Emergency Contacts.

SPHCM Samuels Building Evacuation Map

image - SPHCM Emergency Evacuation Procedures

The assembly area for SPHCM (F25) is the Michael Birt Gardens in front of the Lowy building (C25).

SPHCM Induction and Risk Management

Induction to SPHCM

Visitors

Visitors are advised to have a look at HS414 Visitors Guideline and complete HS630 Visitor's Induction Form.

Completed visitors' induction forms (HS630) should be returned to Level 3 Reception.

It is also advisable to complete the risk management form relevant to their workplace. Examples of SPHCM risk management forms can be found below.

Staff

All staff should complete the HS006 induction form with their supervisor.

Completed staff induction forms (HS006) should be returned to Level 3 Reception.

Risk Management

Staff and students are advised to complete the blank UNSW Risk Management Form (HS017) and Guide for the activity they are going to undertake or customize from the SPHCM examples below.

SPHCM Examples:

  1. Working in an Office Environment - (Word)
  2. Undergraduate Primary Care Placements - (Word)
  3. Home Visits - (Word)
  4. Domestic Research and Travel - (Word)
  5. Overseas Research and Travel - (Word)

Note: If your activity involves travel (International or domestic) please refer to UNSW Travel Policy,
UNSW Insurance Policies and Insurance Services, UNSW Fieldwork Guideline (HS406) and SPHCM Travel Procedure.

Completed risk management forms should be returned to Level 3 Reception.

SPHCM Health & Safety Minutes

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012